Dynamic aliases in zsh

I work with project which consists of many subdirectories. When I wanted go to specific directory, I went to the root of project and then changed to specific directory. I decided to optimize this a little bit.

My first approach looked like that:

alias p='cd /path/to/project'
alias subdirectory1='cd /path/to/project/subdirectory1'
alias subdirectory2='cd /path/to/project/subdirectory2'
...
...

It came to my mind that I can define dynamically all necessary aliases. I added to my .zshrc following lines:

for folder in `ls /path/to/project`;
  do alias $folder="cd /path/to/project/$folder";
done;

Of course this solution add small overhead when loading .zshrc but it is much simpler and easier to maintain.

Posted on 01/06/2013, in Inne. Bookmark the permalink. Dodaj komentarz.

Skomentuj

