Review: „Jump Start CoffeeScript” By Earle Castledine, SitePoint

cover

Adventure with CoffeeScript

I like learning new programming languages and trying new technologies. It took me some time to take a deeper look into CoffeeScript even though it is available in Ruby on Rails stack since version 3.1.
Jump Start CoffeeScript is written in interesting & entertaining way: you are taking part in „7-day HTML5 Game Jam-a-Thon Challenge (TM)” with your teammates. Every chapter is one day when you learn CoffeeScript and write game for the challenge.

I have a mixed feelings after reading that book. On the one hand: book covers aspects & features of CoffeeScript; author nicely introduces to game programming and HTML5 stuff (such as Canvas API, audio tag). On the other hand sometimes I got lost during typing the code. It wasn’t quite clear what indentation use or where exactly type the code. There are some errors (typos / misleading filenames) in book that stopped me for a while and I have to use code sample.

I can recommend you that book.

My rating:

Product page: http://shop.oreilly.com/product/9780987247827.do

I review for the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program
Posted on 06/01/2013, in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Dodaj komentarz.

Dodaj komentarz

Follow

Otrzymuj każdy nowy wpis na swoją skrzynkę e-mail.

