Review: „Version Control with Git” By Jon Loeliger, Matthew McCullough, O’Reilly Media

webgl cover

Git inside out

I started using Git about year and half ago. Through hands-on experience I gained a lot of experience. Recently, I found Version Control with Git available in O’Reilly Blogger Review Program. I decided to dive into this book and learn more about Git. First 3 chapters are light introduction to Git: history, installation and basic use of tool. Chapter 4 covers internals, basic concepts of Git. It gave me better understanding of „hidden” changes made by every command I type. Chapter 6-13 covers essential aspects of Git in everyday work. Following chapters contains more complicated and more interesting stuff ;-) Version Control with Git is an awesome book. Authors explain things thoroughly. They also have a good sense of humour and it makes reading much more pleasant. A lot of material presented in book, I learned just by exploring available commands in Git. However, there are many useful tips & tricks. Interactive rebasing is the best thing I found in this book :-) This book showed me more powerful things I can do with Git. I recommend this book everybody who needs great version control system.

My rating:

Product page: http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920022862.do

I review for the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program
Posted on 26/12/2012, in JavaScript, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Dodaj komentarz.

Dodaj komentarz

Obserwuj

Otrzymuj każdy nowy wpis na swoją skrzynkę e-mail.

